Sunday, November 23, 2008

The Columbus Crew Win the MLS Title

The Columbus Crew defeated the New York Red Bulls 3-1 to win the first title in their history.

Alejandro Moreno, Chad Marshall, and Frankie Hejduk all scored for Columbus however it was Guillermo Barros Schelotto who stole the show.

The league MVP had 3 assists in the game and took home the MLS Cup MVP award.

The Crew hadn't made the playoffs for the past 3 seasons, however they were the best team in the MLS the whole season. 

Crew coach Sigi Schmid said, "You go through a lot of emotions when you win a game like this.  I'm happy for our team and the city of Columbus. We stuck together all year, we're a team. The group was tremendous and worked hard every day. That's what got us here and that's how we did it."

No comments: