Friday, August 22, 2008

UEFA Announce Club Footballer of the Year Nominees

UEFA announced a list of 20 nominees for the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year award.

17 of the 20 players on the list are from the English Premier League, with no players from Serie A represented.

The players nominated are:

Didier Drogba
Lionel Messi
Cristiano Ronaldo
Wayne Rooney
Fernando Torres
Michael Essien
Cesc Fabregas
Steven Gerrard
Frank Lampard
Paul Scholes
Jamie Carragher
Rio Ferdinand
Carles Puyol
John Terry
Nemanja Vidic
Manuel Almunia
Petr Cech
Manuel Neuer
Pepe Reina
Edwin van der Sar

UEFA will determine a best player at each position (attack, midfield, defense, goalkeeper) and an overall best player.

The winners will be announced next Thursday, August 28th, at the draw for the 2008-2009 Champions League group stage.

I gotta think that Cristiano Ronaldo is the favorite to win the Player of the Year. If not him then Rio Ferdinand. My prediction is that someone from Manchester United will win.

No comments: